Home » Campus

Founders Week 2012

11 October 2012 No Comment

Congratulations to this year's Founders Week Winners!

Entrepreneurs of the Year

Associate director and co-founder, Institute of Human Virology
Professor, Department of Medicine, School of Medicine

Associate director and co-founder, Institute of Human Virology
Professor, Department of Medicine, School of Medicine


Drs. Blattner and Redfield are recognized for their global impact on treating and preventing HIV/AIDS. As a result of their success in building a sustainable business model and infrastructure in nine developing nations, nearly 500,000 patients have been treated with antiretroviral medications and close to 3 million people have received prevention interventions and HIV testing. A foundation of their success is a high-impact service delivery model that has trained 35,000 in-country health care professionals who have delivered more than 100 million doses of medication.



Public Servant of the Year

Director, Social Work Community Outreach Service (SWCOS), School of Social Work

Cook creates and implements innovative models of social work education and service that strengthen individuals, families, organizations, and communities. In addition to his University duties, he volunteers for many community causes to reduce crime, improve sanitation, and help low-income residents secure health care.


 Researcher of the Year

Grollman-Glick Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, School of Pharmacy

Dr. MacKerell’s superior research is reflected in substantial funding, more than 200 peer-reviewed publications, and many patents and patent applications. As director of the Computer-Aided Drug Design Center, he has facilitated the identification of novel compounds for development into therapeutic agents for the treatment of pain, cancer, and bacterial infections.



Teacher of the Year

Professor and vice chair of academic affairs, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science, School of Pharmacy     

A faculty member in the School for more than 20 years, Dr. McPherson has led the development and/or redesign of numerous courses and receives outstanding course evaluations from her students. She developed the first nationally recognized Palliative Care Residency by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and has applied her expertise in palliative care and pain management to interprofessional education.

To learn more about our winners and events, visit founders.umaryland.edu

For extended bios, click on the winner's name. 

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.

Current day month ye@r *